America’s Cup World Series Hits San Francisco This August


The America’s Cup World Series is a professional circuit that brings America’s Cup-level racing and the America’s Cup experience to top international venues. It is an extreme experience – cutting edge wing-sailed catamarans flying at speeds over 30 miles per hour, and a mix of fleet and match racing to test the abilities of the best sailing teams in the world.

There are two seasons of the AC World Series – the 2011-12 AC World Series concludes on July 1, 2012 in Newport, Rhode Island, and the 2012-13 AC World Series stops in San Francisco and Naples, concluding in May 2013 – prior to the beginning of the 34th America’s Cup events in San Francisco in July 2013. At the end of the each AC World Series circuit, a series champion is crowned based on their cumulative scores from each event.

The first winner of the 2011-12 AC World Series was ORACLE TEAM USA – SPITHILL, who were crowned season champion at the final event in Newport, Rhode Island on July 1. Emirates Team New Zealand was second overall, with Artemis Racing third. While Spithill’s team was also top of the table in Fleet Racing, Terry Hutchinson’s Artemis Racing won the Match Racing for the season.

The second AC World Series starts in San Francisco from August 21-26, 2013 and marks the first time the teams will race in the host city of the 34th America’s Cup. This is followed by a second San Francisco event in the first week of October.

The second season of the AC World Series also sees the challengers for the 34th America’s Cup collect points towards a Louis Vuitton Ranking which will confer an advantage at the beginning of the Louis Vuitton Cup in July 2013.

Location: America’s Cup Park, Piers 27 / 29
Venue: Type: Outdoor Arena
Capacity: 9,000
Show Dates: mid-May through October 2013