Austin Film Society Celebrates Annual Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards on March 7


Austin Film Society celebrates the 13th annual Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards at Austin Studios on Thursday March 7th, 2013 in Austin, Texas to honor a legendary group of Texan artists in film and television. This year’s honorees are an illustrious group and include Academy, Golden Globe, Gotham, Spirit and Emmy Award-nominated actors. The Texas Film Hall of Fame is the state’s premier celebration of film and television.

The 2013 inductees to the Hall of Fame include actors Annette O’TooleHenry ThomasStephen Tobolowsky and Robin Wright, and the film DAZED AND CONFUSED.  Director and actor Rob Reiner will be presenting Robin Wright with her award.  Legendary comedic actress Julie Hagerty will be presenting Stephen Tobolowsky with his award.  Academy-Award winner Sissy Spacek and production designer Jack Fisk will be presenting Henry Thomas with his award.  Actor Michael McKean will be presenting Annette O’Toole with her award.

 The Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards is the premier celebration of film artists in the State of Texas. The event brings together legends of cinema, television and music for an unforgettable evening of festivities benefitting the Austin Film Society’s programs for emerging filmmakers. All of the proceeds from the gala support AFS film grants and education, discovering and funding talented Texas artists, often launching their filmmaking careers. 

The Texas Film Hall of Fame is one of Austin’s most highly anticipated gala events. This year’s event heralds Austin Studios’ expansion. The Austin Film Society plans to convert the former National Guard Armory into a creative media hub where diverse filmmakers and cinephiles can meet, inspire, teach and support one another. To celebrate this milestone, AFS will magically transform Stage 7 into an elegant gala setting, featuring delicious cuisine, cocktails and wine and a lively awards show.